2015-08-31-1441054409-6383209-ada_service_dog_law_handout_cards_business_cardr24f14e9f53964ad6b9698958455eda58_i579t_8byvr_1200

There’s always a confusion on the difference between a PTSD dog a service dog or an emotional support dog.

Here’s the biggest way to know if the animal is a service dog & not an emotional support dog.

Is the dog trained to perform tasks based on the handlers disability?

If yes, then it’s a service dog.

If no, then it’s an emotional support dog.

Examples of what is considered a Service Dog task based on what I’ve trained Indiana to do for me.

  1. He will circle me if people are getting too close.  With PTSD I don’t like people crowding me.  It gives me anxiety & sometimes can lead to a panic attack.
  2. He will stand right in front of me “blocking” me if someone comes at me aggressively.
  3. He will stand beside me with him facing my back so that he’s allowed to watch my back when I’m standing in lines like at the grocery store.
  4. He will jump in my lap when I’m having anxiety or do something to get my attention to help me get out of an anxiety or panic attack.
  5. If I’m having a nightmare he will wake me up.

These are just some of the things a trained PTSD service dog can do.  If the dog isn’t trained and it’s just there for support (you pet it if you have anxiety) then it’s an emotional support dog.

Now when it comes to differences between Service Dogs & Emotional Support Dogs the biggest thing is  to know what your legal rights are for the dog.

Service Dogs:

  1. Are covered by the ADA (American Disabilities Act). Please click on this link to read more about what requirements the ADA has for service dogs – ADA Site
  2. Each State is different when it comes to service dog laws on needing a vest or paperwork.  Know the states laws but also know that the ADA does trump a lot of the state laws.
  3. Cannot be denied access at restaurants, hotels, hospitals (not operation rooms), airplanes, trains, buses, boats, national parks, and on military bases (depending so do research).
  4. Airlines do require proof that your dog is a service dog.  For me I have a letter from the trainer stating Indiana is a trained service dog, a letter from a lawyer saying I cannot be denied access, and a letter from my therapist stating Indiana is my service dog for PTSD.
  5. Your landlord cannot charge you a pet fee or discriminate against you by not letting you rent or evict you from the apartment if it’s not a dog friendly complex.  You will need a doctors note for needing the service dog since most complexes require proof.

Emotional Support Dogs:

  1. Not covered by the ADA (American Disabilities Act).
  2. Denied access to restaurants, hotels, hospitals (not operation rooms), trains, buses, boats, national parks, and on military bases (depending so do research).
  3. Allowed access to planes only if you have a note from your doctor stating you need the dog for emotional support, (each airline is different so research it prior to flying).
  4. Your landlord cannot charge you a pet fee or discriminate against you by not letting you rent or evict you from the apartment if it’s not a dog friendly complex as long as you have a doctors note stating the dog is an emotional support dog.

certapet-service-dog-laws-1024x848